The ‘Burgh: Part One!

Have you seen the movie “Contagion” with Matt Damon and Gwenyth Paltrow? Where she cheats on her husband, gets on a plane then unleashes a massive worldwide pandemic that wipes out 2/3 of the population? Okay, so maybe it doesn’t happen like that exactly…but all those things do happen. It’s good, you should watch it, but go stock up on antibacterial gel and hand soap first. Trust me.

Why do I bring up that movie? Well because that happened to me! No, I didn’t cheat on my husband and unleash a worldwide pandemic. And no, mister and I did not get married (calm yourselves!). But I did get on a plane and I did get sick when I got home. CONTAGION!!

Last weekend mister and I took a little trip to Pittsburgh, PA to see one of our dearest friends get married. Mister was also in the wedding which was fun for me because that meant that I got to go to all the fun parties AND I got to see him all dressed up in a tux. Winner, winner chicken dinner!

This was our third and last wedding of the summer and as much fun as we had at all of them this one probably takes the cake (sorry, Sarah!). First of all the rehearsal dinner was at The National Aviary which is a bird zoo. A really awesome Bird Zoo! They even brought out a penguin to meet the couple during dinner. It was beyond awesome.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

^Toucans know how to pose.^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

^This is a Stellar’s Sea Eagle^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA^I’m pretty sure he could eat Gypsy^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA^Flamingos! I didn’t go through all the exhibits until after dark. I spent to much time with the…PENGUINS!!!^

IMG_1853

^No, those were the appetizers. Cute, right? ^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

^This was Simon and he was a total flirt!^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA^I. LOVE. PENGUINS. But really, who doesn’t? ^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

^Just adorable^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA^They even brought one out for the couple to meet.^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

^The couple- Joe and Mary. There is so much love between the two of them it’s inspiring.^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA^They also brought out this guy, a one-eyed Bard Owl. I call him Winky. ^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA^Obligatory family photo. That’s mister, me, his dad, mom and twin brother. Good looking family right!^

Even though we were only there for the weekend I feel like we saw a lot of stuff. Or at least my camera says we did. Tomorrow I’ll share some pics of the city that I took while walking around. Sidenote: I have 394 pictures of various buildings and 0 pictures of mister and I on this trip. I guess after this long you forget? I mean how does that even happen? I hope someone has one somewhere…and if so will you send it to me?

Leave a comment